NML Inaugurates MSL

Department of Science and Technology Sec. Fortunato dela Peña delivers his keynote address during the Inauguration Ceremony of the Mass Standards Laboratory on May 20, 2019.

May 20 is World Metrology Day in commemoration of the signing of the Metre Convention, also known as the Treaty of the Metre in Paris in 1875. This treaty created the International Bureau of Weights and Measures (BIPM). This year marked the 144th anniversary of the said treaty and coincides with the inauguration of the Mass Standards Laboratory of the National Metrology Laboratory of the Philippines (NML).

The Mass Standards Laboratory was established in 2003 in accordance with the implementation of the National Metrology Act of 2003. It has grown in leaps and bounds [through] capacity-building, consultancy sessions and even donation of standards and equipment in cooperation with Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt (PTB), the national metrology institute of Germany from 2006 to 2017. Moreover, it further enhanced and expanded its services with the renovation of the laboratory and the acquisition of new standards and equipment under the five-year project entitled: “Strengthening the Physical Metrology Capabilities of the National Metrology Laboratory”, which commenced in 2016.

The Philippine government has invested approximately PHP 43M for the acquisition of six new comparators, one susceptometer, additional set of weights (M1, F1, E2 and E1) and reconditioning of the facilities. Consequently, new services for the calibration of E2 weights from 1 mg to 50 kg and non-automatic weighing instruments (NAWI) up to 300 kg are now being offered.

(L-R) Sec. Dela Peña leads the ribbon-cutting ceremony with ITDI Director Annabelle Briones and Usec. Rowena Cristina Guevarra.




The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) Secretary Fortunato dela Peña served as the keynote speaker for the inauguration, joined by Usec. for Research and Development, Dr. Rowena Cristina Guevara and Usec. for Scientific and Technical Services, Dr. Carol Yorobe.

Dr. Annabelle Briones, ITDI Director, Dr. Diana Ignacio, ITDI Deputy Director for Admin and Technical Services, Ms. Aurora Kimura, NML Chief, ManComm and ExeComm members also graced the said event.